The Quick Edit window

The Quick Edit Window

 

The Quick Edit window is a tool in TableWatch which allows you to check, add or change information regarding a reservation.

Basically, once a reservation has been entered into the system, you will need to access the information about that reservation, and you can do that by clicking the name on the reservation showing on the left hand side of the Floor Plan.



This will pull up the Quick Edit window.

 



Here you will see information about the reservation, like the name of the guest, and how many people make up the guest’s party, etc.

There are also some fields which you can fill in with more information that was not provided at the time that the reservation was initially made, like the Wait Quote (the number of minutes that may be expected before a guest and party are seated), Table Number/s  (as may have been requested by the guest), and Hint (visual hint letting the staff know the appearance of the party. E.G. "wearing a white polo with two children)



You will notice three (3) rows of icons.

 

 

These correspond to the type of Occasion,


 

The Status of the reservation,

 

and the Color Cues which are assigned to certain locations in the Floor Plan.


 

These colors will be different for each restaurant. Management may change the verbiage per color cue in their administrator module
 

Occasions.

There are various occasion icons in this row. Let us discuss a few examples, which would also apply for the rest of the occasions.

For a Birthday, the symbol is a cake. Once we click the cake, 

 

 

the screen goes back to the Floor Plan and on the Reservation information field on the left margin, you will notice the occasion icon turns into a cake.

 

 

To go back to the Quick Edit Window, click the guest’s name in the reservation,

 

This time, let’s say the occasion is for an Anniversary. Let’s click the icon for it which is a heart with an arrow through it.

 

 

When the Floor Plan returns on screen, you will notice the occasion icon turn into a heart with an arrow through it.

 

The same process happens with all the other occasion icons. When you click on an occasion icon in the Quick Edit window, the occasion icon in the Floor Plan will update with that occasion.

The following are the Occasions in the Quick Edit window with their corresponding icons.

Birthday - Cake
Anniversary - Heart with an arrow through it

Engagement - Diamond

Baby Shower - Baby

Congratulations - Trophy

Graduation - Toga Cap

Business - Couple of Banners

Romance - Man and a Woman

Appetizer - Fork and a Cocktail Glass

Dessert - Cup

Special Need - Person in a Wheelchair

Tradition - Baby

The last icon in the Occasions row is called Aloha, and is reserved for technical use of the app manager / developer.


 

 

Status

The icons in this row correspond to the various status, or stages, that the reservation may be in at a given time.

 

Before the guest and his or her party are seated, the status of the reservation is defaulted to Preassigned.

 

Next, when the guest arrives at the restaurant, the status is changed to Arrived, and after you click the Arrived icon, the screen returns to the Floor Plan, 

 

 

And you will notice the time of the reservation now becomes highlighted green.

 

 

Back in the Quick Edit window, the status is updated to Incoming, if the guest’s party is waiting for some other members to come in. Basically, this is the status after the guest has arrived and before they are seated.
 

 

When the guest and party is complete, they will be seated and in the quick edit window, you can click on Seated. The screen returns to the Floor Plan.

 

 

On the Floor plan, the tables on which the guest and party are now seated becomes highlighted with the color blue.

 

As the status of the reservation changes and is entered into the system, the subsequent icons reflect such change.
 

 

For example, let’s say that the guest and party have finished their meal and are now taking their dessert, we click the Dessert icon in the Status row in Quick Edit, and when the Floor Plan returns to the screen, the tables seating the guests now become highlighted in Pink, the color code assigned to Dessert.

 

 

When the guest and party have finished dessert and have paid, we click the Paid status icon in Quick Edit

 

And back to the Floor Plan, the color of the tables again updates to the color green, which indicates that the reservation is finished and paid up for those tables.

 

 

Once the guest and party leaves, the tables are bussed and made ready for the next occupancy. We can now click on the Reset status icon.

 

 

On the Floor Plan, the color of the tables changes to yellow, meaning it is now in a waiting status as the tables are being readied for the next reservation.

 

When the tables are finally ready, we can click the Finish status icon.

 

 

On the Floor Plan, the tables are now cleared of any information regarding the previous reservation.

 


Color Cues

The third row of icons consists of the color cues, which are assigned to certain locations in the Floor Plan, As stated earlier, these color cues will be different for every restaurant, Each restaurant’s Management may change the verbiage per color cue in their administrator module
 

The sections or location in each Floor Plan may vary from the example given hereunder, but usually, most restaurants would have similar sections.

In this example, these are the colors assigned to the different sections.



There are other tabs near the bottom of the Quick Edit window, but the more important ones are “Res Reset” for resetting,  and “Res Cancel” for cancelling the reservation.

 

Whenever changes or updates are made in the Quick Edit Window, be sure to fill your name or initials in the blank field “Updated By”

 

 

The other blue tabs to the right of the Updated By field are

“Confirmed”,
“Not Confirmed”,
“Left Message” and
“No Answer”,

which correspond to the actions taken by you regarding the reservation, usually directed to the guest either by phone call, SMS (texting) or even by email.

When all changes and updates have been completed accordingly, and the Updated By field has been filled in, click Save.

 

End of article.